PC-Based PPC: Whatever

These are Pay-Per-Click ads from my Gmail. Google calls them, “sidebar links.”

AdWords PPC in Gmail

The advertiser pays Google when I click them.

But, I don’t click them. Of course not. Why?

  1. I know they’re ads. They smell.
  2. They aren’t targeted well enough to be relevant.
  3. I’m not shopping when I’m in Gmail. I’m Gmailing.

That aside, PPC does work. Because of people I will never understand. And the technology for targeting those people is getting more creative:

Microsoft on Reranking Search Results Based Upon Your Calendar -SEO by the SEA
It might look at calendar entries, emails, documents, and other information in this attempt to define importance, and understanding different events and times related to things like emails and calendars may be essential in providing relevant results to a searcher. There isn’t an actual person going through my documents or calendar. And I’m not looking for information in PPC ads, anyway.

There isn’t an actual person going through my documents or calendar, so it’s not a huge deal. But, it’s a big waste of time …

Random PPC ads (those outside of search engines) are, I’m sure, less likely to be clicked than those appearing above and to the right of your requested search results. Because when you’re at a search engine, you’re looking for answers. When you’re somewhere else, you’re not.

Leave a Reply

